Random Quickie #3- 1990 TMNT Postcard from Branded in the 80s

Wow!  Really?!  This is the third straight day I’m posting something, and it’s my fourth post in those three days!  It’s actually quite refreshing.  I hope I can keep up this momentum.

So last week, Shawn over at Branded in the 80s, posted about a book of TMNT postcards(from 1990), that he had come into his possession.  He stated that he wanted to use these postcards for their intended purpose, and mail them to the first 24 people that responded.  I’m a huge TMNT fan, and this was an item that was right up my alley.  Before we go any further…if you haven’t checked out Branded in the 80s, please do so now(or after you finish reading this).

I love getting mail(and this is the first piece of mail that I’ve received from Georgia).  As Shawn said on the back of the postcard, “this postcard has finally fullfilled it’s postcard destiny!”.  While these are officially licensed, the artwork is different from the usual licensed stuff.  No matter, I think Mikey looks decent.

I love the way his tongue is sticking out, looking over his shoulder.  Like there’s a delicious pizza pie behind him.  Mikey’s my second favorite Turtle.  When the cartoon first aired, Michaelangelo was initially my favorite,but Donatello has held my number one spot for more than 20 years since then.

I just had to show the back, so you know that this is legitimate(and plus, who doesn’t like more pictures).  Thanks again Shawn, this is one of the coolest pieces of mail that I have ever received!

4 Responses to “Random Quickie #3- 1990 TMNT Postcard from Branded in the 80s”

  1. Michaelangelo is still my favorite and always was. Raphael went from worst turtle to 1B after the first TMNT movie. Great character. Keep up the momentum! And thanks for the link to the Branded in the 80’s site–looks cool.

  2. Hey! I was lucky enough to score one of these from Shawn as well. What a great idea to post about it! 🙂

    I was always conflicted between Michaelangelo and Leonardo being my favorite turtle, but as far as my favorite character it’d have to be Krang (in his android body form). LOVED that action figure!

  3. Jboypacman Says:

    Very cool and nice to see them being actually used for there original purpose. : )

  4. […] came across these horror post cards in an old Fangoria magazine.  As he has several times in the past, Shawn sent these to some of his readers(all you had to do was send an […]

Leave a Reply

