“Reveal the Shield” Revealed My Weakness

Since I started to keep track, I went 39 days without buying a toy, a comic book or video game.  The fortieth day happened to be a pay day, so I decided to hit up Wal-Mart to browse the toy selection.  I was hoping that I would find the Transformers Generations Wheeljack, but that didn’t happen.  It was the same sorry selection since after Christmas.  A couple of  Thrusts, Cybertronian Bumblebees, 1 Cybertronian Optimus Prime and about 3 pegs worth of the line that came before Generations. 

To tell you the truth, I would’ve bought Red Alert or Dirge, if they were available.  I NEEDED to buy a toy!  Right before I was going to admit defeat, I saw two of these on a lower shelf.

There was no thinking required.  I thought $19.97 was a good deal, and made my way to the checkout.  Actually, I stopped to check out the $5 DVD bin, grabbed National Lampoon’s Vacation(I don’t know why I didn’t own this already), and then made my way to the checkout.

I have been really looking forward to the Reveal the Shield line.  A majority of the older figures were equipped with this feature, which might have something to do with my anticipation of the line.  From what I have seen, the first wave looks to be very G1 oriented.  Here’s a few more shots of my new addtions.

The Reveal the Shield logo that you see behind the figures, is actually on the back cover of the comic book.  In the second shot, you’ll see more of the selection for this line, which I’m sure you’ve already seen on other sites.

Three figures and The Autobot Matrix of Leadership for $20.

The gimmick of this line is the rub signs(Battle Beasts used these as well) on the figures.  Rub the shield on the figure, to reveal the robot’s allegiance.

Before rubbing.

After rubbing.

First, we have Rodimus and The Autobot Matrix of Leadership.

He’s very reminiscent of G1 Hot Rod, which is a plus for me.  And The Autobot Matrix of Leadership is made of metal(die-cast?), and not plastic, another plus!  The transformation isn’t all that hard for a level 3(though Cyclonus was a little challenging).   And you get 2 choices of how he should look in his alternate mode.

This way…

Or, this way…

Just like the G1 figure, Cyclonus comes with his Mini-Con, Nightstick(who transforms into his weapon).

While Cyclonus looks great in his robot mode, I can’t say that I’m a fan of his alternate mode.

The light pipe eyes look nice(you can see an example in the “before rubbing” photo 6 pictures back).

I am very impressed with this release, and look forward to seeing what else Hasbro has in store, as well as looking forward to adding more of this line to my collection.

6 Responses to ““Reveal the Shield” Revealed My Weakness”

  1. Now these are some sweet Transformers! If I run into this set in the store, it will be mine. I wonder if they have a set with Kup or Blurr?

    • I haven’t seen any other sets for this line. Though, in the new wave of Generations figures, there is a Sgt. Kup. He’s a pickup truck, but his color is the same as his 80s counterpart, and his robot mode looks to be a nod from G1.

  2. Jboypacman Says:

    Got this set for X-mas this past year from the wife and i like it. : )

    • I believe I first saw this set on your blog Jboy. But this looks like it recently hit my area. If I drive out to Albany(about 40 minutes), I’m sure the selection is far greater(being that it’s NY’s capital region[malls, stores etc.]).

  3. Jboypacman Says:

    You need to get yourself a Reveal the Shield Sgt. Kup and Jazz if you don’t have those yet. Also i got some things i want to send to you soon Jason just need a address buddy. : )

Leave a Reply

