Random Quickie #4-MAD No.279 June 1988

I will let it be known that I am a long time fan of MAD magazine.  I was first introduced to the magazine by my dad, and have been periodically reading it ever since then.  I remember going grocery shopping every Saturday, mostly at Shop-Rite, with my dad and step-mom.  One day when I was 9 years old, my dad decided to buy the latest issues of Mad magazine and Cracked.  This became a ritual every month when the new issues hit the stands.  Which brings us to today’s Random Quickie.

This is that first issue that I read(not the exact issue, that got traded a long time ago).  I always remembered it because of the scratch and sniff cover, and any time I would think about my dad, I thought of this issue.  I found this copy on Ebay a couple of years ago, and it’s the cornerstone of my MAD collection.  My dad passed away 14 years ago, so this is nice reminder of the influence he had on me, and the good times we had together.  This one’s for you pop.

4 Responses to “Random Quickie #4-MAD No.279 June 1988”

  1. That’s Great- a nice tribute to your Pop who obviously gifted you a sense of humor & fun. I remember one night in the early 80’s my own father took me to the Majik Market where I found my first MAD magazine. I didn’t have many, 2 or 3 & maybe an issue or two of Cracked, but I really got a kick out of ’em 😀

    • I went out and saw a lot of my extended family last summer, and they said that I reminded them of my father, only I was nicer. I took that as a huge compliment, and put a smile on my face. I run into old MAD magazines from time to time, and they’re still funny. If you can find some older ones, I’d recommend that you check them out(the newer ones are funny as well, but it seems as thought the issues have gotten smaller).

  2. jboypacman Says:

    Its great when a book or toy or even a video game can bring back fond memories or be link to something like your father. I think this is one of the big reasons we all collect what we collect. Your father sounds like he was a great person Jason. : )

    • Yes he was. I frequently think back, and only remember the good times. Life too short to carry a grudge, and nobody’s perfect. I don’t really reflect on the bad times, but then again, kids think differently. A lot of the stuff I thought was bad is actually quite trivial now that I think about. If that makes any sense.

Leave a Reply

