I hope it’s not too early for Halloween

Okay.  So as I was thinking of some blogging fodder, I remembered something(s) I had that I wanted reviewed.  The thought that followed went something like this…”But that’s related to Halloween.  Why don’t you wait until at least late August to talk about these?”  I figured, what the hell?!  If I know the type of people who visit here, they will happily take something Halloween related any time of the year(except in December when we’re all consumed in Christmas and the X-E Advent Calendar 🙂 ).

I know that McDonald’s was a happy place when I was growing up.  But, there are quite a few differences.  I’m not going to turn this into a rant about how some people just want to suck the life out of everything, rather, help you remember a time when life was sweet and nothing really mattered.  That’s right, I’m talking about childhood and McDonald’s in the 80s!

Before we get to the meat of this article, I would just like to point out some differences and memories of McDonald’s then and now.  Back in the day there was no such thing as a Mighty Kids Meal.  If you wanted 6 chicken McNuggets, you ordered a chicken McNugget Happy Meal.  I was always a fan of their BBQ sauce, but my younger brother always got honey with his nuggets.  What ever happened to the honey?  What ever happened to the Fry Guys?  And, what ever happened to all Happy Meals coming in those cool boxes(bags are so BK)?  And lastly where are our McNugget Buddies?

Well I don’t have any answers for you.  But I do have a few things based on those last two questions that I would like to share with you.  For me, the McNugget Buddies are one of my favorite McDonald’s Happy Meal toys ever!  There was just something so simple, yet so fun with these guys.  Was it the fact that they were little representations of the living McNuggets we saw on television?  Or, was it the fact that they were kind of customizable?  I think the answer may be both.  I also think that part of it had to do with them first debuting as toys around the Halloween season.

If you visit X-Entertainment, you will know that Mumm-Ra crashed these guys’ Halloween Shindig last year.

But I’m not here to talk about the Halloween McNugget Buddies, rather the cardboard house they came in beore we took them to their new home.  Yes people.  I’m talking about the Happy Meal boxes that these guys came in with you meal.  Nowadys, when you go to McDonald’s, sometimes your Happy Meal will come in a paper bag.  What the fuck!!  Part of the appeal of a Happy Meal besides the toy and the food, was the neat box it was all packaged in.  Growing up, I don’t think a single Happy Meal I got didn’t come in one of those neat boxes.

These are said boxes that the Halloween McNugget buddies came in.

Now from what I remember, there are usually four different boxes to promote each different Happy Meal.  Well, I only have three of the boxes.  When I bought the set of the McNugget Buddies from a garage sale (still in their sealed packages), these three boxes came with them as well.  The woman I bought them from had hundreds of complete Happy Meal toy sets, some had the corresponding boxes sold with them.  She also gave me two of the McBoo pails for free.  Let me tell you, I was ecstatic!  Back to the boxes.

The picture above is of the front of the boxes.  As you can see they are completely covered in Halloween graphics.  There were puzzles, games and jokes all over these boxes.  They really went all out.  Click on any of the pictures to see exactly what I’m talking about.

Halloween and McDonald’s just seem to go together. But it just seems that some people don’t agree with me.  If they would just understand moderation.  And just so they know…I didn’t just tell my parents that I wanted McDonald’s cuz of the hot new toys they were peddling, but I actually enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.  The toys were kind of an extra.  An extra that I was Happy to have with my Meal.

8 Responses to “I hope it’s not too early for Halloween”

  1. It’s never too early for Halloween.

  2. Kinda reminds me of one of the commercials they used to play during Saturday morning cartoons…”It’s never too early to learn to read.” 🙂

  3. I concur with the comment about Happy Meal boxes. As a kid, when I got a (cheeseburger) Happy Meal, it came in a box you could punch and fold into a mini playset that matched the toy! They don’t do that so much anymore. You know what the toys are at McD’s and BK right now? “The Last Airbender (live action)” and “Twilight: Eclipse”, respectively! I don’t think there was ever a time when kids were having more uncool, unfun fast food toys foisted upon them! And another thing, why don’t they do Halloween Happy Meals anymore? They don’t even do the McBoo pails anymore! Thankfully, Jack in the Box had Halloween pails with their kids meals last year, and they ended up being pretty popular from what I can tell. I better cool it; I’m starting to sound like Adam Corolla. This is Hoverbored, signing off and heading for the tub!

    • Do you see the shit on tv now. They show the kids with Happy Meal boxes all over the place. Because, every time you buy a Happy Meal, a portion of the proceeds go to the Ronald McDonald House Charity. That’s cool and all, but give them what they want…a cool toy and a cardboard box to play with in.

  4. you’re right- Mc Donald’s WAS more fun when I was a youngster… everything gets ruined nowadays. if i go to heaven, i might imagine it would be eternal life as a ten year old boy
    …BTW, why is there a picture of Edward VanHalen w/Ronald McDonald at the top of your blog? “Fun in the 80’s”?

    • I will take that as a compliment! I have never been told that I look like Eddie Van Halen. That was a picture of me and the real Ronald. This was back in 05 or 06(I’ve been out of the retail/restaurant business for years now), and our store was doing a grand re-opening, and the real Ronald flew in to do a meet and greet with the customers and I got a picture with him in the break room. I had to crop the photo, but it’s me and Ronald with a copy of MAD Magazine. I sent the photo in for Celebrity Snaps, but I guess it just wasn’t MAD enough. 🙂

  5. …that was, umm… a joke, of course 😀

Leave a Reply

