Feeding the Hun-grrr

So, nothing much has happened this weekend.  We decided to go out yesterday to stock up on a few things we needed for our upcoming trip to Cincinnati.  My fiancee decided to shop for some clothes and suggested that while she was shopping, I should go check out the new comic shop in town.  What a great suggestion!  Now, in the seven years I’ve lived in upstate N.Y., there has not been a comic shop within a reasonable distance from where I live.

I had seen the shop on a passing trip through Cobleskill, and I saw a sign on the sidewalk proclaiming the grand opening of a new comic shop.  I didn’t get to stop that day, but I was amped at the opportunity to be a regular customer at this new establishment.  As the day went on I was informed that the building that housed the comic shop, burned to the ground later that day!  I was pissed!  Here I was, happy as can be because I might be able to rekindle a passion reading comics, and the savior burns to the ground!

There is a happy ending though.  About a week after this the owner of the shop found a new location in town, and was open for business a few weeks later.  The owner told me that he was open for about 45 minutes before the fire occured.  That has got to be a shitty feeling on your first day!  Anyway, not only does he have over one million comics.  He sells vintage toys as well.  He has G.I. Joe toys mint in box, Masters of the Universe( Castle Grayskull mint in box!! ), as well as Transformers and other toys from the 80s and 90s.

This brings us to the point of the post.  I was able to haggle a little bit to get this two headed Transformer I remember having as a kid, for seven bucks!

Further research tells me that this is Hun-grrr.  He is the central Decepticon Terrorcon in the combiner known as Abominus.  He was in one small story arc of the original G1 cartoon.  Obviously, he didn’t have a huge impact on the youth at large, but he held a special place in my heart.  A two headed dragon that transforms into a robot!!  Did I mention that he is a two headed dragon?  I went home and did the happy dance as I transformed him.  Although he looks badass in his dragon form, he will be displayed in his robot form, for now.

At 23, I think he looks pretty good.

 

2 Responses to “Feeding the Hun-grrr”

  1. we will have to hit up the comic shop and find some bucky o hare i have a list of guys. ya that transformer is sweet.

    • Yes. After Cincinnati. Once finances are straightened out, we will hit the comic shop. I will, of course, be checking out the G1 Transformers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

