Michelangelo 2012

Just like how Krang is now “Kraang”, Michaelangelo, is now “Michelangelo”.  The little differences in these 2 names, is the only thing that I don’t like about the new TMNT line/show.  It’s no secret that I love the new figures.

Just as he always has been, Mikey is still the fun-loving jokester of the crew.  When Ninja Turtles first hit the cartoon scene back in 1988, Mikey was my favorite.  This didn’t last long, as Donnie became my favorite a short time later.  So I guess you could say that he would be my second favorite.  I think part of the reason I originally like Mikey, was because he was the one wielding nunchucks.  And a lot(and I mean a lot), of kids loved nunchucks, me included.

As is the case with the other Turtles, Mikey’s skin shade differs from that of his brothers.  He is also the shortest of the four, or the “runt of the litter”, as the card back refers to him.  He has the same articulation as the other Turtles(the other non-Turtle figures in this line have much more limited articulation, which is a minus for me).  I think that this is probably the best articulation that a Turtle figure has had(with the exception of the NECA figures).

I’ve always hated that the nunchucks never had real chain links.  I’m not saying that they have to be metal, but even if the plastic was individually linked(like the ‘chucks old-school Panthro came with)it would look that much better.  But, they work, and it’s not like I didn’t know they were plastic in the first place.

He’s a great figure, and I can only hope that the Turtles catch on with the kids of today(as I’m sure they will), and we get some more awesome figures.

I already picked up Raph, so the team shall be complete soon!

5 Responses to “Michelangelo 2012”

  1. I love them too Jason and playmates did a fantastic job with these!

  2. Awesome! I am so in love with these toys. I just picked up all four of the 11″ figures from TRU–the ones with the shells that open up for storage. I was happy to discover that 11″ Mikey’s chucks have chain links on them.

  3. I actually really want to get all of the new Turtles…but only the Turtles…lol
    For some reason the rest of the line just doesn’t mesh with me.

  4. Nice!I might go after some of the vintage Turtles first before going after any of these though.
    BTW-I e-mailed you with some trade details and pics 😉

  5. I have to say I was very impressed by the new series. One of the most interesting things they did was give each turtle a body type: Don is tall and lanky, Mike is short and fat, Raph is stout and muscular, and Leo is more or less in the middle. Also, did you notice that Mike’s spots look like freckles? Between that and the blue eyes, he looks kind of ginger.

    Actually, I think the new Ninja Turtles has the same advantage as the latest Power Rangers: there’s an element of fun and humor that the later Disney seasons lacked, in addition to the straight action drama. Nickelodeon’s doing something right… now if’d they just do something about iCarly and Victorious…

Leave a Reply

