New Stuff and a Pretty Awesome Find

Where does the time go?!  We’re already in September, and the cooler weather is moving in.  I had my last camping trip of the summer this past weekend, and I had one of my best friends visit me the weekend before.  Before I knew it, almost two weeks had gone by without a single post.

So that’s the story.  But in the time I was away, I managed to have a few items come my way.

Whether good or bad, I always love to get new NES games to add to the collection.  In my opinion both of these are decent games.  Stinger was given to me from my friend Mike.  He was at a video game store, picked up two copies, and gave one to me.  The boss at the end of the first stage is a giant slice of anthropomorphic watermelon!  Mystery Quest was an Ebay find, nothing too special.  I had this game when I was a kid, but I don’t remember much of it.  The only thing that I specifically remembered, was that your health was referred to as “vitality”.  It’s a little bit of a rip-off of a mario game, but it’s different enough to be enjoyable.

Not including shipping, I paid $2.05 for this 1992 April.  Not bad.  Not bad.  The card is a little warped, but may be able to be fixed.  It’s also unpunched.  As you can see, this is a 5th anniversary figure(“New for ’92!”).  Any time I can get a carded, old-school TMNT figure for a great price, I won’t pass it up.

And here is the most recent, but also, most awesome find.

Ready?

Bam!

This has to be one of my favorite finds ever!  And I almost didn’t see it.  I was at the “Red Barn”, and happened to catch it out of the corner of my eye when I was starting to leave.  I grabbed and just could not believe it.  It’s just one of those toys you don’t expect to find in the wild anymore.  Voltron is a long time favorite of mine, but I was much more into the show when I was a kid.  This was one of the toys that I always wanted, but never got(I do have one from ’97-’98).  My friend Rob got it for me, and said it was the birthday gift he forgot to give me.  What a guy!

The best part?  The lions are in excellent shape!  As you can see on the box, this is the blue and red lion set.  We’ll take a closer look at these in the near future, but here’s this for now.

16 Responses to “New Stuff and a Pretty Awesome Find”

  1. Kevin Hellions Says:

    I look forward to hearing more about that Voltron set.

  2. duoconflywheels Says:

    That Mystery Quest game is awful, awful I tell you! However that Voltron set is pretty darn nifty! Congrats on an awesome find!

  3. Hey congrads! I have that same blue Lion.

  4. Nice finds! I didn’t play vido games in the NES era, but an growing more curious about older video game technology like this

    • NES’s a re fairly inexpensive at this time. You should definitely pick one up with some games. If you need help with the better games, I’d be happy to help! 🙂

  5. I’m the same way with old NES games; they don’t have to be good for me to want to add them to my collection. Even the bad Nintendo games offered up cool 8bit art or music. Those Voltron lions are sweet!

    And…is that…a gun I see among April’s arsenal of news reporting paraphernalia?

    • Yes, this April comes with a gun. On the package she is saying “One more step, and I’ll scoop ya!”. Cheesy? Yes. Still awesome? Hell yes!

  6. That is one amazing find my friend 🙂

  7. Awesome Jason! Congrats on the Lions and Stinger is a cool little NES shooter(Shump) it’s known as Twinbee in Japan and has been ported to other systems like the Sega Saturn(JPN) and PC Engine.

    • I am familiar with the game, but did not know of the other ports. It’s definitely a fun game. Even better when you have a friend play as well. So many drugs must have been taken during the making of this one. I want to play this one through, just to see how many time I say “What the…?!”.

  8. ahhh, I remember those gigantic NES cartridges. I never owned one, but I had a friend that lent me a Mutant Ninga Turtles game to play with in my fake NES console that came with +20 NES games in its ROM memory 😀

  9. Wow! Great finds! I love old NES games. There is one I love, but I always forget the name. I think it is Karnak. But I might be spelling it wrong. Love the April. I remember getting her when I was younger and loving the new sculpt. Such a great find to with the Voltron items! One cousin of mine had everything, but I had another cousin that had the die cast Lions. that is so cool!

Leave a Reply

