11 Comic Books and Other Things

Recently, a new comic shop opened in my area.  This is not to be confused with another comic book shop that opened in my area in the last year or so.  That was a different comic shop, where I’ve heard stories of the store’s owner and bad business.  I got ripped off by him, but we won’t get into that.  The new store is nicer and the guy(Eugene) who runs the place is a cool guy who interesting to speak with.  The name of the shop is Empire Ray Gun Company.

All of the comic books you are about to see are not in mint condition.  But that’s okay.  All of the comics in my collection are of varying degrees of condition.  The primary reason to be into comics is to actually read them.  And that’s why I bought these.  And for the old-school ads from my childhood.

I got the Robin II issues because these were a big deal when they came out.  Holograms were one thing in card form, but when you put them on a comic cover, you got a kid’s interest.  This was also in the time of “gimmick” covers.  Every comic company was putting out glow-in-the-dark covers, foil covers, embossed covers and foil-embossed covers.  But the cover of the first issue is so awesome, and it was a four issue mini series, so it was worth the price.  I got these books for one dollar each, which is awesome.  But he didn’t have issue 2, so I won’t be able to read this anytime soon.  You’ll also see Johnny the Homicidal Maniac #7, Roger Rabbit #2 and Transformers #2.  JTHM is a great, dark comic(this was the only comic that cost cover price).  I loved Who Framed Roger Rabbit?, so I don’t see why I wouldn’t like the comics.  The old-school Transformers comics were a favorite of mine back in the day.  Plus it’s the second issue!

I have always been more of a fan of the old Mirage TMNT series, but I like all TMNT related literature.  The issues from Archie Comics was done in the same vein as the tv show, so it’s a give in why they would produce comics that were more like the popular cartoon.  The main reason I bought the Thor(I have nothing against the series or character) comic was because there are moai on the cover.  And I got the three issues of “Peter Porker, The Spectacular Spider-Ham”, because I was(and still am), a huge fan of the character and series, and these were issues I didn’t have.  I would love if Hasbro made a Marvel Universe figure for Spider-Ham(are you listening, Hasbro?).  And as I said earlier, the ads in these comics are great.

On my way home from work on Friday, I spotted a little “flea market” shop that was open for business in my area.  It was a small locally owned establishment, and it was very small(like a big shed).  I decided to check it out.  I didn’t find too much, but the owner was a nice guy and his prices were pretty good as well.

Cheech and Chong’s Up in Smoke is they best movie they made.  It is hilarious and very quoteable.  I don’t know if I’ve seen The Freshman.  But the dvds were $3 each or two for $5, so  I had to find another movie, and I didn’t see anything else interesting.

I don’t have any setimental attachment to Exo Squad and the bubble is wrecked beyond repair, but I couldn’t say turn down a 17 year old action figure for 3 bucks!  It’s a cool looking toy, and I had to buy it.  He kept on trying to get me to buy a box of the baseball cards you see pictured.  He said he must have 50 sealed boxes.  I’ve curbed my trading card collecting, and baseball isn’t my sport.  Before I left, he just gave me a set for nothing.  From what I’ve heard this set contains both Ken Griffey Jr.’s and Randy Johnson’s rookie cards.  Not too bad.

I haven’t been to any garage sales recently, but I haven’t seen any either.  I did spot one Saturday moring as I was giving a friend a ride home, so I just had to stop.

And Stimpy here, was the only thing that caught my attention.  I loved Nick Toons back in the nineties, as there were so many great ones.  Ren & Stimpy and Rocko’s Modern Life were my two favorites.  Of couse him in his original box was a deciding factor in my purchase.  The woman selling it had it marked for $6 but she said I could take it for $4, and it even works!  Not the best deal for a yard sale find, but definitely a fair price.

And lastly…

An old-school talking Pee-Wee Herman doll!  My friend Mike surprised me by giving this to me on Saturday.  He had him sitting in his man-cave, and knew I’d appreciate it.  The motor in his voice box is messed up, so he talks like a chipmunk, but that’s fine.  Maybe there’s a way I can fix that?  I now know that these dolls have bendable legs, which makes it great for display(but he’ll have to be stored away for now).

10 Responses to “11 Comic Books and Other Things”

  1. Some really cool stuff! I love the Spider-Ham books and the name that new comic book shop is great. : )

  2. I’ve been hoping to find that talking Pee Wee herman doll for a while but haven’t stumbled across it yet! someday… Nice find on that Stimpy toy. Can you believe that show is 20 years old already?

  3. I loved the Robin II series back in the day. Good on you for supporting your local comic shops. TPB’s and e-comics are nice, but they can’t come close to recreating the feel of a real-deal original comic in your hands. You’re gonna love The Freshman if you’ve never seen it. I’ll bet your memory will be refreshed once you start watching it.

  4. I had the Ren doll when I was a wee lad. Don’t know if I still do, though.

  5. I think ownership of a DVD of “Up In Smoke” is considered “probable cause” in some states.

  6. Old School Mike Says:

    Jason it’s Old School Mike from the X-E boards. LOVE all the crazy stuff you got on here. See you at Albany Comic Con!

  7. The Spider-Ham are awesome, the Pee Wee Herman doll however makes me want to fill my panties with fear-poop. Fuck that thing right in the ear, set it on fire. Do it now, it’s the only way to be safe.

  8. OMFG!! A Ren & Stimpy Plushie!! I watched this insane cartoon on MTV for Latin América in Early 2000’s, when it was a sort of good TV channel.

    I miss Rocko….

  9. Damn, I loved Ren & Stimpy! What can I say?? What a fookin’ HAUL!

  10. I still have my Stimpy, how cool that you have one in the box! Also I remember getting those Robin II comics in my subscription at a local shop that is long gone now, wow what a rush of memories!

    Great finds man, great finds.

Leave a Reply

