Red Alert!

At the end of my last post, I listed 5 lines of Transformers figures, and asked which line my audience would like to see a review from.  I got 3 votes from 6 comments I received.  Transformers Generations was the winner with 2 votes.

I found Red Alert here at my local Wal-Mart about 5 weeks ago.  That’s kind of funny because I believe he is from the second Generations wave, and I first saw him when I was Christmas shopping last year.  My Wal-Mart is notoriously behind when it comes to new toys.  I found this figure within a week of finding Wheeljack and Thundercracker.

Like a handful of figures from this line, Red Alert is a nod to his G1 counterpart.  Due to licensing issues, Red Alert had to be modified just enough to not be a Lamborghini(still looks like one to me).  He now sports Fire Rescue, instead of Fire Chief.  He looks good here, but you know me…I’m all about the robot mode.

And this is another one that does not disappoint!  In my opinion Hasbro is making the figures they couldn’t make 20+ years ago(don’t get me wrong, I love the G1 figures).  If these figures were made of die-cast metal, they would be perfect.  My only gripe has to do with the accessories.  The engine that sits on top in vehicle mode, is supposed to attach to his blaster in robot mode.  The problem is that, at least being the case with mine, is that they will not stay together.  This knocks a point off of it’s perfect score.  But looking at the head sculpt negates this, I guess.  I would give this figure my recommendation.

I have 5 more Transformers lined up. waiting for review.  I don’t know if I’ll review them all(I might keep them stored until I have more room), but 3 of them will find their way on here in the near future.  Here’s a little clue to who’s next.

Any guesses?

4 Responses to “Red Alert!”

  1. I’ve always thought Red Alert was supposed to have one arm that was just a gun. Are they just not doing that in the toys now? Still, this is a great looking one. I love the re-issue of Wheeljack that they’re doing now. He was one that I always wanted when I was a kid and never got, so I might get that one.

    • If you want him, you gotta move quick. Like I said I first saw him while I was Christmas shopping last year. I was only able to buy 1 figure for myself at the time(TF Animated Rodimus Minor), so maybe this was karma’s way of paying me back for doing the right thing.

  2. jboypacman Says:

    Excellent figure i havn’t picked him,Warpath or Scrouge up yet but am planning on it. : )

Leave a Reply

