Reminiscing With Old Comic Book Ads

Hello everyone!  I’m fully relaxed and back in action!  I just needed a little break from the computer.

As you all know, I have a decent collection of comic books.  While I am no longer a hard-core comic collector, I still like to look through my collection and remember the early days when I first got into comics.  I belie I started collecting comics when I was around 12, but I started reading comics way before I started collecting them.  As a boy, my father used to take us to Phil’s Barber Shop in Pleasantville, NY.  I’m sure the place is long gone, but I can remember reading comic books as my father or brother were getting their hair cut by Phil.  Not only did he have comic books for us kids to read, but he would always my brother and I a cookie before we left(the good ones, in the big round tin).  Also, right down the street was Archie’s Corner Store.  I used to love perusing the comics and candies, and my dad would usually get a pack of Chuckles(do they still produce those?), for us to share.  Alright, now I’m getting off track.

As you can tell by my little tangent, I was reminiscing.  All brought on by looking at old comic books.  I only scanned a few ads from a few comics that I have not yet filed away into the long boxes.  Here are the comics the ads were scanned from.

 

 

I’ve acquired all 3 of these comics within the last 2 years.  The Sectaurs and Silver Hawks comics were bought at a garage sale in the summer of 2009, but I’m not sure where I got the TMNT II movie adaptation from.  The Sectaurs comic is from 1986, Silver Hawks is from 1987, and TMNT is from 1991.  The ads contained within these comics aren’t the most iconic, but they all remind me of simpler times.

We’ll start off with the only ad that I scanned from the TMNT comic.

The only other ads in this comic were for Double Dragon III and a bunch of Arcie Comics stuff.  This ad is for the most frustratingly hard TMNT game ever made.  I didn’t know a kid who had an NES who wasn’t into Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  That being said, almost every kid I knew had this game.  After getting through the under water bomb disarming stage(which a lot of people say is too hard), the game gets unforgivingly difficult.  I will be the first to say that this is one game I have never beaten.  I remember seeing this ad an awful lot.

Now we’ll take a look at what lies within the Sectaurs comic.

Nestle Quik.  Whenever this stuff was in our household, I used to like to eat spoonfuls of this chocolately dust.  I don’t remember this specific promotion, but how cool would it have been to win a complete set of Go-Bots?!  I was(and still am) a loyal fan of the Transformers, but what kid would balk at the chance to win a complete line of toys?  You don’t see promotions like this anymore.

This is an ad I remember clearly!  Most ads that had puzzles/games during this period stand out in my mind.  You don’t see to much advertising for these types of products these days, which is pretty sad.  Do they make other flavors of Newtons besides the fig variety these days?

If you’re a product of the eighties, there is no way you don’t remember M.A.S.K.(Mobile Armored Strike Kommand).  I loved this show, but only owned one toy from this line(my brother and I both had Jackhammer).  My favorite was Condor, while my brother’s favorite was Thunderhawk.  Looking at them now, I think they’re all pretty kick-ass!

Now we’ll see what lies within the pages of Silver Hawks #1.

I don’t really remember this ad, but I was a big fan of Disney and Oreos back in the day.  This seems like a pretty good deal.  I’m sure the just the Mickey ears set you back more than $5.95 these days(I wouldn’t know, I have never been to a Disney park).  And I’m sure I would look just as happy if Mickey mouse was eating Oreos with me.

This is the last ad we’ll be looking at today.  Cocoa and Fruity Pebbles had great advertising in the eighties and nineties.  This ad is almost like a Mad Libs.  Their commercials are memorable(who could forget the classic Christmas commercial?), and when they had free toys or prizes in the cereal, they were pretty good!  Not to mention that the Pebbles cereals taste really good.  The Flintstones seem to have all but vanished these days(what happened to all of the Hanna-Barbera cartoons?).

There were other ads in these comics, but I only went with the ones most would remember(if you read comics back in the day).  This may be a good topic to revisit, and I have plenty of material to pick through.  Would this be something you would like to see covered more?  Let me know in the comments.

12 Responses to “Reminiscing With Old Comic Book Ads”

  1. Trey J. Says:

    My grandpa bought me a subscription for The Amazing Spiderman when I was younger and I miss ads like these. I was born in 1987 so some of these ads are older than me. I remember playing the TMNT game ALL the time on my NES. If I wasn’t playing that I was playing The Simpsons game at the arcade. I never was a chocolate Quick kind of kid, I preferred Strawberry.

    Thanks for bringing back some classic memories, it’s always fun looking back.

    • Thanks for stopping by Trey! The Simpsons and TMNT arcade games were awesome. I wish they released the Simpsons game on the SNES, like they did with “Turtles in Time”.

  2. jboypacman Says:

    Comic books and Toys can hold so many wonderful memories from our youth and by collecting them we can recapture those great times in our lives and feel like a kid again.

  3. The best part of flipping through old magazines or watching VHS tapes of old shows is seeing the ads from back in the day. That M.A.S.K. ad brings back a ton of memories. I had them all except Jackhammer and I loved the cartoon. If I could’ve only scored that playset, I would’ve been king of my neghborhood. Great post.

  4. The old ads in comics were pretty great. I loved looking at those sales club ads where you could sell misc. items and cash in the credit for cool prizes like R/C cars, “magic” gadgets and the like. The ads in current comics aren’t near as much fun.

  5. I actually owned both TMNT games and they were great. I especially like the Gameboy one (Fall of the Foot Clan) because my father bought it for me the day before my family went on our road trip to Disney World and I played it to death. The music and sound effects are forever burned into my memory.

  6. Nice post. When I get my hands on old comics from the 70s or 80s almost always the first thing I look at is the ads. I remember as a kid just looking at some of them and longing for the toys they advertised. I also miss the ones from comic dealers that used to appear in the late 80s, where they’d list all the old comics they had available for mail-order. I used those as my semi-official comic price guide.

  7. Oh man… I still have a bunch of my comics from the 80’s, and the ads ARE the best- they really take me back to that time, to my childhood. Sat. morning cartoons, weekends at the mall, arcade days. Damn, those were good times 🙂

  8. I was just doing this same thing the other day. I picked up some Starriors comics at a convention in June, and I was flipping through it just to look at the ads.

    And yes, you’re right. That TMNT game has got to be one of the hardest games I’ve ever played, especially that underwater part.

    The way I first got into comics was my older cousin started collecting them and I used to go over to his house and read his. I think I was about 12 or so at the time. Then, we started going to a place up the street from his house called Al’s Pharmacy. Al had one comic book rack in the place that he would get new shipments for every week. I remember picking up Ghost Rider (vol 2) #1 and Quasar #1 there. This was about the time that I was starting to really get into Batman as well. My aunt bought me a 3-pack of some Batman comics that she found at Wal-Mart and that pretty much started my Batman comics habit (well, that and the 1989 movie — still my all-time favorite movie to this day). After a few years, Al’s went out of business (he was selling drugs off the books illegally), and we started going to an actual comic book store and became loyal customers there for years until they went out of business. That was where I got my first pull list…and the rest is history.

  9. […] tmnt mad libs book jasonvorhees.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

