Finally! I’ve Always Wanted One of These.

This is an item I have wanted, but have never had, since it’s introduction.  I cannot really explain why I wanted this though.  You’ll see what I mean.

A Couch Potato!  These were released by Coleco back in 1987.  I think the presentation is great!  Making it’s package look like your everyday chair was a great touch.  The guy who I bought this off of had a $20 price tag on this guy.  Now, I have always wanted one of these, and I likely wouldn’t run into one of these again.  I just checked, and these guys in their box run in the $50 range.  So I guess $20 dollars was a deal.  But anyway, I asked him what was the best he could do.  He said he would take “ten bucks for it”.  You can’t argue with half price(plus that’s the number I had in my head).

They made these for everyone.  I’ve been everyone of those potatoes.  I don’t know what I could have possibly been thinking I would do if I got one of these back then.  I don’t think the potato’s burlap sack would have been very comfortable to cuddle with.  I want to think it was made more as a gag gift.  But this was the same company that had the ALF and Sectaurs licenses.  But I’m happy I now own one.

There is actually an old Coleco factory about 30 minutes from where I live.  I wonder if anything was left behind there?  Anyone else remember these?

6 Responses to “Finally! I’ve Always Wanted One of These.”

  1. jboypacman Says:

    I totally remember these! And yours is complete? Very cool Jason congrats. : )

  2. nice find. i think i got mine for 10 bucks too at the toy show. pretty cool to find one still in the box “in the wild”

  3. Just saw one of these at a garage sale myself maybe a week ago…still in the box as well. Didn’t look to see how much they were asking but had I known that they sell for 50 bucks, I’m pretty sure it would have gone home with me.

  4. I got one of these for Christmas the year they came out. I bet its still sitting in my parents basement. AWESOME!

  5. I have a stuffed Chicken Little, and his huge head is perfect for the same things this couch potato is intended to. If the potato is like my Chicken Little, it must be extremely confortablel!! 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

