A Look into One of My Non-Sports Trading Card Albums

I’ve shown you some of my favorite non-sports trading cards before.  Tonight I’m going to keep the theme, but add a little twist to it.  Instead of showing some single cards in top loaders, we’ll see full 9 card pages from one of my albums.  I’ll cover a good range, but have tons more for future follow ups.

I’m pretty sure that I started collecting trading card before I started to get into collecting comics.  It started with getting some albums full of baseball cards from my older brother and step brother.  The eighties and early nineties were a great time for non-sports trading cards.  This was before companies started adding chaser cards with their various gimmicks.  Most non-sports cards were a regular set of cards and a set of stickers.  Topps had tons of licenses for all the popular properties.  And if you bought a pack of cards manufactured by Topps during this time, you also got the requisite stick of their famous now stale gum.  When the cards were new, the gum was a nice bonus.  But now the gum would be old and stale(trust me, this stuff went bad years ago.Do not eat it).  You can see a picture of this gum from one of my other card related posts here and here.

Here is the album we’ll be peaking into today.

There’s not a single Pokemon card in here!  That’s not to say that I don’t like Pokemon, because I actually do.  They remind me of Battle Beasts in a round about way.  I got into them when the craze started, and got this binder pretty cheap(and it’s officially licensed).  The Gameboy games were what really got me into the lore.  It’s not too bad, give it a chance!  But we’re not here to talk about Pokemon, I just wanted to explain the album choice.

First up…

We have a sampling of my Punisher cards.  The Punisher has been my favorite Marvel character ever since I started collecting comics.  I especially like the old school prismatic sticker(I’ve had this for a long time).  Some of these were found in packs, while others were found in binders in card shops and conventions.

Here we have some stickers from Topps’ Nintendo Game Packs from 1990.  I’ve talked about the cards in a previous post, and briefly mentioned the stickers.  Some of these stickers are pretty ridiculous, but they’re fitting of the time period.  While I’m missing 4 cards from the set, I do have the complete set of stickers.  On the reverse side, they have “Top Secret Tips”.  And I stand by my assessment that they’re bullshit!  Not only did every kid know the tips, but a lot of them were the lamest ones!  I’ll even give you proof with a scan from the backs of the above stickers.

While the tips suck, I love the design!  Any time I think of a spy, that’s exactly what I would imagine.

Aaaaaahhhhhhhh!!!!  One of my favorite shows and toy lines of all time!  These are Pee-Wee’s Playhouse trading cards.  They have 1988 Herman Toys printed on them, and I would guess that’s when they were released.  I never saw these when they originally came out, and I don’t feel like finding the wrapper to find out, so we’ll assume that they were released in ’88.  These were something special.  Topps went a different route with this set than they did with any of their other licenses.  These were sold in “Fun Packs”.  Fun Packs we’re more like a trading card goodie bag.  You get cards, temporary tattoos, stickers and a lenticular card in every pack!  You can usually find loose packs on Ebay for as low as $1.50 a pack(although most will overcharge for them, so shop around).

These are some of the cards for the custom comic art from Mallrats(I guess these would be considered a sub-set).  If you’ve seen the movie, these were shown during the end credits.  When I worked at Tower Video, we got all types of cool stuff.  As soon as these hit the shelf, I bought the whole box(with a very nice employee discount)!  I thought that I made a complete set, and gave away all of my doubles.  But, I made a mistake, and my set is one card short of being complete.  😦

These are the first series of trading cards based on The Simpsons.  Released in 1990 by, you guessed it…Topps.  These were released around the time Simpsons-mania started.  The animation is rough compared to the polished look of The Simpsons today.  And that’s part of the charm!  The earlier episodes had a bit of a different feel to them compared to a bulk of the series.

I just have one last card to show you tonight.  This is just an awesome card from one of the most memorable scenes from any movie, period!  I’m thinking of using it for my banner.  What do you think?

I think this would work great for an anti-meth poster.  Dontcha think?  🙂

7 Responses to “A Look into One of My Non-Sports Trading Card Albums”

  1. Church Says:

    I love this post! I have a bunch of non-sports cards as well. I should break out my binder and get some pics…you might get a kick out of some of the old stuff I have. I’ve got the same bunch of Simpsons cards and I LOVE the Mallrats set, I didn’t know they even made those!

    Not sure if you’ve saw them but there are some new Star Wars cards currently on the shelves at Target and they are awesome! At $2.99 a pack I don’t buy a lot but I’ve got some great ones! I have a ton of Marvel and DC cards as well.

    Good stuff man. Makes me want to get my binder and trade cards like back in day…lol.

  2. Great! I loved that “toxic nightmare”… i really dug RoboCop!

  3. jboypacman Says:

    Great collection of cards Jason. : )

  4. […] A Look into One of My Non-Sports Trading Card Albums – Scroll to the bottom for a very high resolution image of some first series Simpsons cards.  Cashing in at its finest. […]

  5. Hey nice Punisher card set. I collected ‘Marvel Masterpieces’ back when I was elementary school (my favourite was the 1994 set). I actually liked the movie too with Thomas Jane and John Trovolta – the other more recent one, not so much. But seeing your cards brings back a lot of memories of collecting back in the day.

  6. Hallo! I need your permission to ‘screen-capture’ and ‘save-as’ some of your picture and ‘text’, and put those to my blog (in Indonesian) about ‘Trading Cards (http://keajaiban-kartu-tcg-yos.blogspot.com/). I’m a fantasy-superheroes pictures collector since 1978. I’ve played Magic The Gathering TCG at 2001, but not a ‘good player’, just for fun only. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

