Thrust and ?

Happy New Year everyone!!

As you can tell from the title, Cybertronian Bumblebee remains untransformed.  I haven’t even attempted to try since the first time I failed.  I will get to it, since I really do like his vehicle mode.  When displayed, he will be posed in robot form, but I have to transform him for piece of mind.

Moving along.

The day after Christmas I found myself at Wal-Mart with my wife.  As I always do, I went to check out the selection in the toy aisle.  I went over to the Transformers section, not figuring to find anything new, or even a decent figure for that matter.  I perused the Generations pegs, and was surprised to see 3 of this guy.

Thrust is one of the “conehead” seeker jets(Thrust, Dirge and Ramjet).  Unlike Starscream, Skywarp and Thundercracker, in robot mode, the nose of the plane stays erect instead of folding back, hence the conehead title.

Knowing that we had some Christmas cash I snapped one off of the peg.  I took him to the check out and home we went.

One of the reasons I bought him was that he is a seeker.  The other is because he resembles the G1 Thrust almost to a tee.  In the package his 2 thrusters are attached to the rear stabilizers, while they’re shown on the wings on the reverse of the card.  There are six total places on the wings and stabilizers, so it doesn’t really matter where they’re at.  But if you’re looking to make him look closer to his G1 look, you want the thrusters on the wings.

In jet mode, he looks pretty cool, and the color scheme is pretty good looking as well.  Thrust is labeled as a level 2(easy) transformation, and this is a pretty straight forward.  That gives Thrust bonus points.  Because you may be able to decipher the first 3 steps, and then they just make no damn sense after that!

But as it is with so many Transformers, he looks best in his robot mode.  His articulation is pretty good and he has missiles that really fire(always a plus).

I went to go grab a beer, and when I came back, Thrust thought he stumbled upon an Energon cube.  But then I let him know that that was a late Christmas gift from my buddy Clark.

When I purchased that Bob-omb a couple of weeks back, there were 2 candies I didn’t buy because I couldn’t justify the price.  I got one of them as a gift from my wife, and then Clark goes and gets me the second one I wanted…Sweet!

Inside, there are 8 gummy squares(think fruit roll-ups, only thicker), with sprinkles on them, that make up 3 different Mario related objects(Starman, mushroom and coin).

These candies also have a great name, Snerdles candied fruit strips.  They’re pretty tasty, and surprisingly the sprinkles are more like sprinkles, and not like Nerds.  If these are what Energon cubes taste like, I can sort of understand whey the Autobots and Decepticons are at war.  🙂

7 Responses to “Thrust and ?”

  1. Thrust looks badass in robot mode–close to a Revoltech figure and those don’t transform. I got a similar Super Mario ? box at Hot Topic, but yours is cooler. Mine only had chocolate coins in it. Nice touch, but given a choice between chocolate and gummy, I go gummy every time.

    • I agree with him looking like a Revoltech figure, which is pretty sweet considering those figures cost more than $11.88. In my Christmas fallout post I got another? block and it’s got coin candies, but I think they’re of the fruity variety. I do not believe I have seen the one that you have. Any pictures?

      • I do actually! It was one of those things I bought and intended to write about last year. I’ll put up some pictures today or tomorrow of it.

  2. Jboypacman Says:

    I have seen this one in a few places Jason and have almost picked him up a few times but i keep passing on him but it won’t be long where i will be able to resist him no longer lol. Also i like the new Cliffjumper i have seen too.

  3. Thrust looks really cool- a pal of mine (Toyriffic toy blog) got a Jazz w/pop-out speakers recently that’s Bitchin’- was never a collector, but I appreciate any cool toy.
    Snerdles? …I’d buy sumthin’ like that 😉

  4. I spent the other night catching up on blogs and went back and read everything you’ve been writing since before Halloween. Got some good finds there. Yeah, aside from Soundwave (who will always be my fave), the jets are some of my favorite Transformers ever.

    • I was wondering where you were. I knew you were having internet issues from your posts over at X-E, but it’s great to have you back Deej! Soundwave is one of my favorites, but he’s so damn expensive on the secondary market, and when Hasbro does a reissue, you can’t find the damn things!

Leave a Reply

