Transformers Animated Skywarp

So, the day after our wedding, I found myself at a Marshall’s in Albany, NY.  I haven’t been to a Marshall’s in a really long time.  I’ve always known them to be a place to get brand name clothing at a discount price.  Even back in the day, I only ever seem to recall them as a clothing outlet.  So I went in thinking I would see if they had any clothes that caught my eye.  I walked around for about 2 minutes, and saw an overhead sign that said Toys.  I didn’t expect to see anything great, but, to my surprise, they had top shelve lines at a great price!  The G.I. Joe and Transformers toys immediately caught my eye.

While a few new G.I. Joes would have been great to add to the collection, I was interested in the Transformers Animated(Voyager Class) figures they had at $12.99.  These figures, when new, run in the $19.99+ range.  So seven dollars off of the retail price is quite a discount!  I remember trying do decide(briefly), between Skywarp and some other figure(maybe Lugnut?).  And had Swindle been available, it may have been a tough decision.

Beautiful, isn’t it?

I have always thought that the seeker jets from Transformers were some of the best looking characters.  I recall playing with Starscream as a child, but I don’t think that the figure belonged to me.  Skywarp here is basically a repaint of the Starscream that came out earlier in the line.  Which makes perfect sense!  Because, according to the back of the box, Skywarp is a clone of Starscream.

 The seeker mode is a little different from the classic style, but looks good, none the less.  The biggest differences are that these guys are wider than their 80’s counterparts and the wings are facing towards the front of the plane as opposed to the rear.  And the color schemes for the most part are close(Starscream is missing blue from his color scheme, and I think makes him look a bit dull).

But in robot mode is where this figure shines.

 I think the design of this figure is great!  The articulation is great as well.  It allows you to put the figure in all sorts of action poses.  And as a toy, I would think that it has top notch playability.  I give it a 5/5.

 

Two of my favorite figures.

If only they were on the same side, this would make an awesome team!

Skywarp will now introduce the next(hopefully) review piece(coming soon).

Skywarp:  I would vaporize you if Jay didn’t have to review you next!

 Bumblebee:  Thanks!  What can I do to repay you?                                        

                                                                                                                                 Skywarp:  Well…since were in front of a Super Nintendo…I think reenacting a scene from one of my favorite Nintendo games will do.

                                                                                                                                                                  Bumblebee:  Oookkaaaayy…what do you have in mind?                              

Bumblebee:  So what is the scene that this is supposed to represent? 

                                                                                                                                                                Skywarp:  Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!  You’re Lil’ Mac, Nuggit is Referee Mario and I’m Mike Tyson.  The only difference is that I always win!  Because 

the speed of your fingers can’t match the strength of my fists!                

Bumblebee:  You’re such a dork!                                                                           

Skywarp:  Well, I thought it was amusing.                                                         

 The commentary from the toys does not seem to publish the same way that the draft looks.  I hope that doesn’t detract to the little bit of humor I attempted.  As I was taking the pictures, the last one really reminded me of Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!

2 Responses to “Transformers Animated Skywarp”

  1. Jboypacman Says:

    Sweet looking Transformer Jason! I been thinking of picking up a Soundwave and a Grimlock from this line and Bludgeon from the “Rise of the Fallen” line. I have to wait until after Christmas now but seeing yours makes me want these even more now lol. By the way i have “Nugget” from the Rocklords too and he is a very cool little figure to own. Merry Christmas buddy. : )

  2. Yup, that is a sweet Starscream clone. He has always been my favorite and is the only Transformer I own right now. That is unless Santa brings me some more Revoltech toys.

Leave a Reply

