Our pumpkins

First, I have to say thank you to everyone for the congratulations and well wishes.  Our day was sunny, but brisk, and a good time was had by all.

Back to the subject at hand.  Pumpkins.

One of my favorite Halloween activities is carving pumpkins.  The possibilities are infinite.  You are the artist and the pumpkin is your canvas.  Hell, if you wanted to, you could paint or draw on them.  But then it wouldn’t be carving, now would it?  We bought our pumpkins last week, and I’ve been chomping at the bit to make some jack-o-lanterns.

The pumpkins were purchased at Wal-Mart and BJ’s, at $3.98 and $4.99, respectively.  My wife picked out a picture perfect, round pumpkin, while I picked a tall slender pumpkin with a broken stem.  And that is exactly the pumpkin I was looking for.  My wife chose a stencil from the carving kit we have, while I decided to pencil in my own creation.  And the reults were fantastic!!

 My pumpkin is the Beast to her Beauty.  And they look pretty friggin’ sweet at night too.

I picked up some more decorations and some Halloween themed candy, that I plan on posting here.  So stay tunned!!(and spooky)

9 Responses to “Our pumpkins”

  1. Nice job, both of you! Your wife’s looks afraid that yours is gonna bite her.

  2. Very nice, both of them. You know they are good cause the way they glow all spooky like in the dark.

    • I’m very proud of them. They definitely look awesome in the dark. Every night when I turn the fake candles on, I stand in the dark for a minute or so, to soak up the effect.

  3. those are great… i’m impressed with both of yours skills. not sure if that’s proper english. at least I didn’t type both of ya’lls.

    • Thanks. I don’t know if that proper English or not. Maybe the “s” at the end of “yours” before “skills”, shouldn’t be there. But that’s not important. It’s the Halloween season. Have you ever heard the way Frankenstein speaks? I’d say, no big deal.

  4. The pumpkins look great all lit up! Unfortunately, I won’t be able to carve one this year, way too busy. The only down time/relaxing I have is hopping on the computer for a little while and checking a few things and then it’s time to jump back to work. At least I can live vicariously through others who have fun carving pumpkins!

    • Glad to see you came back! You are a man of your word. That kind of sucks that you can’t carve a pumpkin this year. And since it sucks that you won’t be able to enjoy such festivities this year, my jack-o-lanterns official first name is now Church. That’s better than just living vicariously. 🙂

Leave a Reply

