As promised

Here I am.  Instead of trying, I am doing.  Over the past couple of weeks, I have noticed that my surroundings were adapting to the changes in temperature.  Colors like red, yellow, brown and orange were consuming the green that had been so dominant over the past five months or so.  Seeing this change going on definitely pumps me up and puts me in a euphoric Halloween daze.  Everywhere I look, there is an amazing palette of autumn colors.  Although these colors are a wonder to look at, they are a symbol of death, in a way.  So, it’s only fitting that Halloween falls in October.  I mean, can you imagine Halloween in February, or even August.  Maybe it feels so natural, because to us, that’s the way it’s always been.  But back to the point.  I guess, what I’m trying to say is…there is even some beauty to be found in death.  I don’t mean this in some type of macabre way.  But, take a look around you(if you’re in an area that has four seasons), and tell me that the landscape, even though it’s dying, doesn’t look beautiful.

Like I said, beautiful.  Over the past week, the weather has been miserable.  Raining, cold and windy.  And that’s exactly how it was outside when I took these pictures before I left from work yesterday.  When it’s sunny outside, the colors are just so much more vibrant.  The rain adds to the gloominess looming around all of the plant life that has thrived all summer long.

These pictures were taken across the street from the new location of my job.It’s supposed to be sunny and warm tomorrow, so I hope to get some pictures when the sun is present.  There is such a difference.  The colors just pop and jump out at you.

And here is a picture of the creek across the street from my house.

I actually stood in the rain for a few minutes to admire the natural beauty that surrounds me.  Living here in upsate New York has made me appreciate such things and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

***Bonus

As you all know, October is here, and the Halloween season is in full effect.  Usually, we put up our Halloween decorations up at the beginning of October.  But this year we put them up at the tail end of September.  Over the course of the five-plus years my fiancee(my wife as of Oct.16), and I have been together, we have accumulated lots of Halloween decor.  And I’m happy to say, that she has just as much spirit for the season as I do.

We picked up this little guy at Richie Rich’s Place(a thrift-like second hand store), about 4 years ago.  I think he cost us fifty cents.  But I think I bought him because he is so reminiscent of something I would had loved when I was a kid.  And the wind-up action still works!  While we have light up pumpkins and rubber bats and spider rings and McBoo pails, I think Drac here is my favorite when it comes to our Halloween decorations.  He always seems to be the one I start playing with when we take out the Halloween boxes.  I wish I could show him in action, but I’m not sure how to do a motion picture with my camera and actually upload it, so you’ll just have to use your imagination.

2 Responses to “As promised”

  1. Looks amazing up there! Florida just gets a little cooler during the winter and a few trees here and there turn color. It’s the part that comes after those leaves fall that has sent me packing from sweet DC jobs back to Florida. Twice.

    • I’ve lived in the state of NY almost my whole life. And not having the typical 4 seasons would be a shock to my system. Yes, driving in the snow sucks. Slush and black ice are a pain in the ass, but when summer rolls around you appreciate it that much more. I’ve never been to Florida, but I would like to check it out sometime.

Leave a Reply

