My first Soundwave

When I see the title of this post, I would think it’s a reference to a Playskool version of Soundwave.  Before you get your hopes up, it’s not.  Ever since I first started watching Transformers as a child, Soundwave has been in my top three.  While a few of my friends had a Soundwave toy, I never did aquire one.  The closest I ever came was having a few of his cassettes(and a few of Blaster’s as well).  The reasons he is one of my favorites is as follows…1.-He has(had) one of the greatest sounding voices ever.  2.-His robot mode was just bad-ass(shoulder cannon, face shield).  and 3.-He had mini Decepticons emerge from his chest.

Now, anytime I have been out checking toy aisles, I never see any of the cool reissues or popular characters.  The top reason for this, I think, is toy scalpers.  I’ve checked Ebay, and the mark ups for such figures is ridiculous!  While I may keep a few of my toys in their original packaging, I don’t buy a toy thinking I can make three times what I paid for by scalping it on Ebay.  I collect what I like, and that is the primary reason I buy toys.  I can understand why older versions of figures can be somewhat expensive, but I can’t grasp why I, or anyone for that matter, should have to pay such extreme prices for a toy that will be displayed in a collection or played with.  It seems rarity doesn’t mean anything anymore.  But enough with the bitching.  Here’s my first Soundwave.

Now it’s not the G1 casstte player, but at least it’s Soundwave.  I have been to Toys R Us, Wal-Mart, Target and various other stores, and have not seen this figure.  Where I did find him was totally unexpected.  I had to run a few errands last week, and I decided to see if any of the local stores had their Halloween displays up.  This lead me to Dollar General.  While this chain of stores usually has a lot of knock off crap, they do have a limited supply of official releases.  Hidden behind a couple of figures I had no interest in was the awesomeness you see above.  The only problem I have with the figures these days is the complexity of the transformations.  If you’re at all familiar with the Generation 1 Transformers from the 80s, you know what I’m talking about.  Back in the day, I don’t remember having any difficulties with transforming the figures(the sticker application is a different story).  And the directions don’t help any.  All they show are arrows, without any words to describe what the hell you’re supposed to be doing.  Here’s the directions for Soundwave.

I think I made it to step 3, and then I was totally lost.  And this transformation is rated as one of the easiest, being a 1 on the difficulty scale.  Before I broke my precious first Soundwave, I hit up Youtube for some help.  Even the guy in the video said that he was going to give away his because it’s such a pain in the ass.  But he showed how to do it(with a little trouble), and I was able to Transform him into the jet(it kind of looks like a stealth bomber).

(A little bit of Halloween goodness thrown in for good measure.)

Changing him back into robot mode was a lot less difficult.  While it took about 1/10 of the time it took me to get him into vehicle mode, I am quite pleased to say I am happy to add him to my collection(and I don’t think he’ll be in that jet mode for a while).

On one last note…the leaves have started to change and the cooler weather has started to move in.  The Halloween season is upon us(for you fellow X-Ers anyway).  So, this weekend we broke out the Halloween decorations and decorated the apartment.  I plan on getting more this year but here’s what we have on the front porch right now.

I have a few more Transformers posts lined up, but I will try to space them out, as I don’t want bore everyone with a related piece everytime I post.  I do want to get a few Halloween posts in, so I will try my best to have a little variety.  I’ll see ya when I see ya.

6 Responses to “My first Soundwave”

  1. You found a real toy at Dollar General?! Nice, man! Soundwave G1 was one of the few Transformers, outside of huge guys like Metroplex and Omega Supreme, that I never owned. Off topic, I saw some nice throwback Star Wars toys at Target on Sunday. They even had the Kenner logo! The Force is strong with these toys, but I resisted for now.

  2. Yeah. They even had a 2 pack of robot heroes that I passed on to get this guy. Being that I am getting married next month, it may bit of toy dry spell until then. I did win a Rock Lords auction on Ebay(Nuggit), but that is it until after the wedding. Just picked up my new car(to me anyway, a 1994 Camry). I do have a little stockpile of toys I have aquired over the last few months, so I have plenty of material. I also want to do some more Halloween related posts, but Halloween or toys, it’s still gonna be a great time. I do want to hit up Target, because they always seem to have a better toy and movie selection than their competitors.

Leave a Reply

