RAK(Robert A. Kraus)

A few days ago, I posed the question of, “Who is RAK?”  Well, those three letters are the initials of artist Robert A. Kraus.  I suppose he’s pretty well known, because, his website says, “Welcome to the website of  world famous artist RAK (Robert A. Kraus).”  To tell you the truth, I kind of stumbled upon his work.  Now, I don’t remember what I was searching for, but I was on Ebay and happened upon some trading cards of his work.  The series is entitled “SUPERFREEKS”.  He has a very unique style, and they’re quite eye catching.  I believe there were 2 series, with 159 different cards in the first series alone!  I only own six of the many cards in this set.  Below, we will look at the first three in my collection.

This first group represnts one of my all time favorite movies, my favorite super hero and one of my favorite video game characters.  As you can see, he has a very exaggerated style, that, in my opinion is very visually appealing.  I would love to get a whole set of these and frame the entire set.

And, the last three.

I think Megatron would be my favorite of the lot.  And I find the Lion-O and DangerMouse cards attractive as well.  He also sells prints, matted prints, posters and a whole bunch of other stuff.  There was a game on the SEGA Genesis titled “Chakan”, with the title character being a creation of Mr. Kraus.  There are similar pieces of Chakan art available as well.  These cards are avilable at rakgraphics.com.

6 Responses to “RAK(Robert A. Kraus)”

  1. That Lion-O is sweet. RAK has a cool, caricature style, I like it. My favorite cartoonist/comic artist is Humberto Ramos. I’ve always loved his exaggerated mix of manga and American styles. I’m covering DragonCon in a couple of weeks and they have a ton of artists going. If RAK is there, I’ll shoot you an email. Maybe there’s some deals to be had there.

    • Humberto Ramos definitely has a unique style. My favorite artist is Sam Kieth. You may know of him, he’s most known for creating The Maxx. His earlier work on Batman(Detective Comics) and Marvel Comics Presents was sweet. The earliest main stream work I have of him is Aliens:Female War, and it’s pretty cool. If you have a chance check him out. Maybe I’ll do a post on him soon. 🙂

  2. Sam Kieth. I’m familiar with his work, but I never followed him–mainly because I didn’t read any of the books he worked on. Kind of off the subject, but here’s a hilarious listing of Rob Liefeld’s worst drawings (the link in the article is the original) http://www.comicmix.com/news/2007/12/03/rob-liefelds-40-worst-drawings-you-missed-a-few/. That dude sucked.

    • Rob Liefeld indeed sucked. Youngblood had characters that looked like Marvel characters. There is one picture of Captain America that he did, where the proportions are so messed up, it’s fascinating to look at. The only work he did that I can say was decent, was the cover of X-Force #1. I heard he did some stuff recently, but the guy still looks like a douche. They can’t all be Jim Lee, right?

      • Bah! Nothing Liefeld ever did was close to decent. Decent is Dan Jurgens or George Perez. Not spectacular, but solid and still easy on the eyes. Liefeld was always atrocious. Even as an 8th grader, I knew he’s stuff was crap. All his characters–even the women–grimaced in every panel like they were dropping a deuce. When I dabbled in drawing comics in high school, I made the unfortunate mistake of copying a Liefeld image. I was young and stupid. It took years to break out of the bad habit of drawing feet retarded like that. Probably a huge reason why I hate his guts. That, and he’s complete douche.

      • Almost all of Liefeld’s shit is horrible! What I’m saying about the cover of X-Force #1 is that it was his best work out of anything/everything he has done. I kind of wish I could get paid to draw like shit. Have you ever noticed a lot of the male characters he draws look like Cable?

Leave a Reply

