Beverage review #2

Today I will review one of my all time favorite sodas.  I don’t know if this is considered cheating, because I have had this so many times.  The only difference is that, you already know is this beverage is gonna get my recommendation.  So let’s meet our friend, shall we?

Here we have Barq’s Red Creme Soda.  In the last review, I briefly mentioned my love of this soda.  Maybe the reason I like it so much is that it isn’t readily available anywhere in my surrounding area.  Anytime I travel to Ohio(I have a lot of family out there), I always make it a point to drink beverages that are not native to my state.  You may be thinking what makes this creme soda better than any other?  First it’s the red liqid, and second is the taste.  This is not to be confused with Big Red soda.  In my opinion, they taste nothing alike.  Big Red tastes more like bubblegum.  That’s not a bad thing.  This soda taste like a sweet creme soda with a little bit of the bubblegum flavor.  And it’s bright red!  This was the last remaining can, and I it has survived since I returned on July 5.  It’s 23 brothers were quickly dispatched.

I guess I don’t need to say it, but I will.  If you like creme soda or the color red, I would say to give it a try.  It doesn’t have the trademark “Barq’s Bite”, but it’s creme soda, and it’s supposed to be smooth.  I’m drinking the last of it now, and I’m a little sad.  So we’ll look at something that will make us happy!

Over the weekend my friend Chris(we call him Clarkinator), gave these to me as a late birthday gift.  He has had these M.U.S.C.L.E men since he was a kid.  When he showed them to me a couple of years ago, I was like are you giving them to me to add to the collection?  Unfortunately, he just found them in his closet and thought I would appreciate them.  Just before he moved back from Florida this past May, he had asked me what I wanted for my birthday, and immediately  I said “How about them M.U.S.C.L.E. men?”  And he said, “When I find them.”  Well, this past Saturday he came by and went into his pocket and tossed them to me one by one.  I said thank you and he informed me that he kept a few, but that’s cool because now I have some of these guys in my toy collection.

6 Responses to “Beverage review #2”

  1. Never had the Barq’s Red Creme Soda. There was some vanilla creme soda–may have been Dr. Pepper or A&W root beer–that tasted like sugared ass and made declare ALL creme soda’s to be poison. This red stuff you speak of looks wicked cool, though. And I like bubblegum flavor. I may have to backtrack on my anti-creme soda stance and keep an eye out down here in Florida for it.

  2. I like cream soda pretty well. ‘Problem is, I don’t think the stores around here carry a lot of these flavors. I know my store carries Big Red (or at least USED to), but I’ve never seen Big Blue or Barq’s red cream soda. When I tried Jones Soda’s Halloween flavors last year, the candy corn flavor tasted a lot like cream soda to me. It was okay, but I wouldn’t really go back to it. A&W and IBC make pretty good creme sodas, as I can remember. My favorite red soda, however, is Mountain Dew Code Red, hands down. It has a good cherry flavor, kind of like a cherry Slurpee, but it has an element of Mountain Dew’s citrus flavor in it, so you can tell it’s part of the Mountain Dew family. As a result, I think it tastes better than a straight out cherry-flavored soda (such as Crush cherry).

    • Mountain Dew Code Red is one of my favorite sodas, period–not just red soda. Does Diet Cherry Vanilla Dr. Pepper count as a red soda? It had a red tint to it. That would be another one of my picks for red sodas of awesomeness.

    • I stopped drinking Code Red like I used to. Every now and then, I grab some, because it’s one of the best sodas ever!!

    • Code Red is awesome. Kind of hard to believe, because I didn’t care for it when it first came out. But it grew on me, and I think it’s better than any other Dew.

  3. I remember this drink from summer being a kid and my parents would make ice cream floats with it. It reminds me of being sticky. 🙂

Leave a Reply

