Cincinnati Vacation Part 2 chapter 1

Actually, the second day of my vacation was my family reunion.  But we didn’t get any pictures from that event, and it probably wouldn’t make for a good post.  So, fast forward to the last day of my trip.  This post will be part one of my last day, because this day was packed with greatness.

If you are familiar with this blog, then you’ve seen my “Yard Sale Finds” posts.  We had grand plans for our final day in Ohio.  We got up early, got ready, went and visited my dad’s burial plot and headed to Trader’s World.  This was my first time at this place and it was a cool experience.  Just take a look at what you see when you drive into this place.

There were animals like this everywhere!

Now, where I live, we don’t have any actual flea markets.  So when I get a chance to go to one, I’m giddy with excitement.  It’s one of those “thrill of the hunt” feelings.  I’ve read many stories about stuff people find at flea markets.  Today I don’t have a grand find, but I did manage to grab a few cool things.  This place was huge!  There were close to ten buildings(almost like barns, but real floors and it was air conditioned), all connected by a central corridor.  Plus, there were dealers in the lot, and a small city of other merchants in an open air facility.  I’m pretty sure I didn’t check out the whole place.  So let’s see what treasures the place had waiting for me.

My first find of the day only cost two bucks, and was the only find for me in the outside area.  Let’s take a look shall we?

Here we have 2 sealed packs(I opened one) of 1991 Topps Stadium Club hockey cards and a loose Ace Duck from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  The cards only cost me 50 cents a pack and the Ace Duck cost me a buck.  While I don’t really collect hockey cards like I used to, I couldn’t turn down cards I remember buying nineteen years ago.  And I should’ve held out on the Ace Duck, as I found one in the exact same condition for only 50 cents.

There were quite a few vendors selling many vintage games, all at varying prices.  When you’re checking out games it helps to check a few places and compare prices to see what will be a better deal.  Unless, you see a deal that you know is a steal.  Everybody nowadays think they’re an Ebay expert and price their stuff accordingly.  But when I spot a box of old games under a table marked between 1-3 dollars, I know I’ll find at least one game I’ll buy.  Here are the aforementioned low priced games I picked up.

In the first picture we have Fester’s Quest, NES Play Action Football and Pictionary, all for play on the Nintendo Entertainment System.  Fester cost me 2 bucks, while the other two ran a buck apiece.  In a box right next to the one with these loose NES games, there was this complete SNES game for two bucks.  Now Nigel Mansell’s World Championship Racing isn’t a rare or great game, but I collect NES and SNES games.  This one had the cardboard tray the game sits in, a cartridge sleeve, all the inserts and instruction manual.  And to top it off, the box is in great condition.

As i was perusing this amazing place I stumbled into a stall with a guy that sold all types of old school goodness, primarily old unopened packs of all different trading cards.  Man, I had to have self control, or I would’ve spent like fifty bucks in there.  I had my 11 year old cousin Nick and my 14 year old cousin Wayne with me.  I gave them two dollars each to get whatever they wanted.  When we were in this stall, Nick bought a pack of Desert Storm trading cards for a dollar and seemed disappointed.  I asked him what was up, and he said that he didn’t want the cards, he thought they would be more animated.  I laughed pretty hard and wound up with the pack, and I’m not sure that I want them.  But I did spend two dollars here, and here’s what I got.

Growing up in the eighties, you know I had the complete set of the Ninja Turtle cards, but I don’t recall ever getting a single pack of Back to the Future II cards.  When I got home I wished I would’ve bought two packs so we can see what they look like.  And like I’ve said before is there a license Topps didn’t acquire in the eighties and early nineties.

Here are the last two items I purchased at this flea market

There was a vendor selling legit movie related and retro shirts for incredibly low prices.  Again I had to control myself.  Here was the sale she had going on…shirts were 3 dollars each, or 2 for five and I think 5 for ten bucks.  Up first, we have the Mega Man “The Usual Suspects” t-shirt featuring Heat Man, Quick Man, Flash Man, Metal Man and Crash Man, all from Mega Man II.  An then we have the classic Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles logo t-shirt.  What more can I say about it?  T-U-R-T-L-E power.

Well that’s all for tonight.  In a day or two I’ll post our Treasure Aisles adventure which was right after we left Trader’s World.  So that will be part 2 of this part 2.  I will leave you with a few parting shots from Trader’s World.

3 Responses to “Cincinnati Vacation Part 2 chapter 1”

  1. Steffanio Says:

    Open the BttF cards!!! Open the BttF cards!!! Open the BttF cards!!! 😀

    • I don’t know. I kind of want to. But what if I never obtain another sealed pack.
      Tell you what, if I do open them I’ll make it an entry.

  2. Dude, right down the road from here.. – small world for X-E fans!~

Leave a Reply

